Welcome to the Worm Gruntin’ Festival Webpage!

WE ARE GEARING UP FOR OUR 20th Sopchoppy Worm Gruntin’ Festival on April 9, 2022. 

To print a copy of our 2022 SCHEDULE: Click Here to Print the SCHEDULE (opens a new window)

…or view our schedule half way down this page

We are excited about our upcoming festival on April 9, 2022. Sopchoppy’s annual Worm Gruntin’ Festival is a way to focus on and pay tribute to local folks who made their living by grunting worms.  In times past, it was the only “job” some people could get.  Some folks have called the festival a free public party featuring live bait.  It IS a fun event!   We’re celebrating our 20th anniversary on April 9, and this year’s schedule begins with an 8 a.m. 5K road-race (or ‘walk’ if you want to join in and aren’t a runner), also featured is a “Revell Family” demonstration with Gary Revell a long-time Sopchoppy grunter.  Following the demo  is a “Gruntin’ Contest” for kids under 12,  a cornhole championship, and the entertaining hula hoop competition (hoops are supplied or bring your own).  Bring the kids — we have a special children’s area near the Depot Museum.   There will be lots of food and arts & crafts vendors, a beer garden, and live music throughout the day — culminating in the Worm Grunter’s Ball from 7:45 p.m. to 10 p.m. (bring your dancing shoes). 

The artwork for our 2022 T-Shirt is the image shown at the top of this page.  We appreciate the talent of Rachell Mathis, our local artist. Come early to the festival to make sure you get our latest t-shirt to add to your collection! To get more info about our 5K Race or how to become a sponsor or vendor click the links along the top of the page. To contact us, send email to Sopchoppyfestivals@gmail.com. And, we could not do this festival without our SPONSORS whose logos appear along the right-hand side of this page.  A huge thank you goes out to them.  Please thank them when you shop with them or visit their stores.  

The Sopchoppy Preservation and Improvement Association, hosts of the Sopchoppy Worm Gruntin’ Festival, continue to lend a helping hand for community projects here in our little historic town. Your participation in the festival makes this possible.  See you all on April 9th.

Worm Grunting' Festival - 2022 Festival Schedule

For those who might want to visit Sopchoppy on their own, there are a lot of outdoor activities available. You could enjoy a walk in our park in downtown Sopchoppy (across the street from the old historic train depot—now a museum.) The park is planted with native wildflowers and also hosts a small pitcherplant bog garden. We are also a bike trail community with one of the most peaceful multi-use trails located along Surf Road (Ochlockonee Bay Bike Trail). We have a second park with RV and camping spaces and a small river walk located on the Sopchoppy River right on the western edge of town. The Ochlockonee River State Park is just south of Sopchoppy and is a magnificent park with lots of activities. And, we are a gateway community for accessing the Florida Trail just a few miles north or west out of Sopchoppy. We may be small but we are mighty! Come and visit anytime.

Some Visitors to the Sopchoppy Depot Museum during a recent Worm Gruntin’ Festival — Home Locations:  Portland OR, Moultrie GA, Fall River WI, Plymouth MA, Geneva OH, Perry OH, Delaware, Chattanooga, TN, Springfield and Ruhland IL, Ashland OR, Pittsburg PA, Redwing MN, Iron River MI, Bangor and Mobleboro ME, and many different cities in the state of Florida! People came from all over the country! There were even visitors recently from Canada and one or two from Australia.

We love this article that appeared in the April 2019 issue of Florida Sportsman Magazine:

****** Florida Sportsman Magazine — Out-Bait the Best ******

You’ll enjoy seeing and reading Steve Hartman’s CBS news report about his Sopchoppy visit:

“Worm Gruntin’ Festival: Re-Opening A Can of Worms”

Also, see our article ResortsandLodges.com! “Worm Gruntin’ Festival: A One-of-a-Kind Event in Beautiful NW Florida”

EXCITING NEWS: Our Sopchoppy Worm Gruntin Festival has made the FloridaRentals.com list as one of the top picks for the best annual events and festivals to visit in the state of Florida.  FloridaRentals.com – “12 Annual Events in Florida You Absolutely Can’t Miss!”


Questions? Click here to send us a message  or contact us at sopchoppyfestivals at gmail dot com.